First days… Eindhoven

I can say that Ahmedabad was instrumental in directing my imagination towards Europe. Europe has captured my fascination ever since I had the opportunity to listen to Doshi sir narrating his experiences of Paris, the posters of Rome and Palladian villas in Sangath, the international atmosphere and above all the movie ‘Midnights in Paris’ !  Finally I was travelling to the land of my dreams, a change ! If I am to be honest, it was a shock beyond description finding oneself in a small city where the streets were empty if not for the occasional car that would strictly follow the traffic lights; glass buildings with no signs of life either inside nor on its outside and above all the deafening silence! I would yearn for some loud conversation, if not simply any conversation! When on rare occasions it happens, I cling on to it as I would for my dear life! Orderliness and silence are indeed sharp weapons. I even allowed my mind to take consolation that I can go back home for the summer (which was only coming from my desperation and it is not the same now). But as it would turn out to be, there has indeed never been any moment to think of silence thereafter. In fact I have never been kept so busy for such prolonged period of time in my life. I must admit it’s not easy for me considering I’m a person who could enjoy the moments between the each ‘tick-tock’ of a clock but at the same time I cannot deny that I am beginning to enjoy this phase – like how one would enjoy a tiring exercise!

But at the same time I am stealing moments here and there to enjoy certain hidden treasures that everyday life here offers!

Eindhoven, 08 December 2015

 

Leave a Reply

